The good, the bad and the useful: A call for your web-based resources

Information sharing. It’s a powerful tool that can help all of us as we do what we do every day. One of the things I’d like to do is compile a list of useful web-based resources. I’m sharing a few I’ve found helpful, along with a brief explanation of why. If you’d be willing to share some of yours, please post here or send them to me at awaldmanmlis@gmail.com, and I’ll start a running list.

Newsmap's Homepage, showing the top news in the US.


Newsmap's Homepage, showing the top news in India. Newsmap’s Homepage, showing the top news in the US (top) and India (directly above).

http://newsmap.jp – An amazing site built by Marcos Weskamp (http://www.marcosweskamp.com). I’ll let him explain what Newsmap is and why he created it. (Note: I’ve cleaned up some spelling and typos.) “Newsmap was born from the need to simplify how we consume the news. If you wanted to get an impartial view of the world, you’d have to jump through many news sites and manually compare how different publications from different countries give more or less prominence to specific topics. When Google News launched I was amazed at how they could aggregate so many stories from so many publications from around the world. But above anything, what struck me is that they where able to algorithmically cluster different articles that report on the same story. In my eyes, this was an absolute feast. Yet, I wanted more. To get an overview of what was happening in the world, I still had to click through many pages. I knew that with a little elbow grease I could turn the data from the aggregator and visualize it in a single screen.”

http://www.conservapedia.com/Main_Page – What looks like Wikipedia but doesn’t act like it? This wiki, created and run by Andrew Schlafly, which bills itself as “The Trustworthy Encyclopedia.” I will let readers judge for themselves regarding its trustworthiness. For extra fun, here’s Conservapedia’s Wikipedia entry: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conservapedia

http://www.kcna.kp/kcna.user.home.retrieveHomeInfoList.kcmsf – the Democratic Republic of Korea’s web site. I stumbled across this when I ran into a copyright issue. I was editing a small publication that didn’t subscribe to the Associated Press, and that meant I couldn’t use anything from the AP in our publication. The Six-Party Talks were going on, and I needed source material. This is a really valuable site from several angles. First off, it’s extremely useful in introducing students to a perspective completely other than what they usually see/read/hear about goings-on in North America and other parts of the world. Secondly, it’s a good bet that the people writing these pieces have probably never heard English from the mouth of a native speaker.

http://www.un.org/en/index.html – The United Nations’ web site. This was one of my other sources for international news information when I couldn’t use AP sources. It’s a very good resource for students looking for information on world affairs.

http://en.childrenslibrary.org – International Children’s Digital Library – I love this site and always pointed my students who are parents to it. It provides an endless supply of books from all over the world, and users can search by color, length and types of characters, among other choices. It’s also a good site for ESL students.

https://www.flickr.com/commons/institutions/ – wonderful images from places like the Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library, the Congregation of the Sisters of St. Joseph in Canada, the National Media Museum and the Powerhouse Museum, among others. A great resource.

About Amy T. Waldman

project coordinator, writer, editor, content creator/manager, free-range librarian, communitarian. if it's got strings, will play it - or try to.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

